The Palo Verde Historical Museum Society, located at 150 N. Broadway, displays many artifacts collected over the years and connects them to Blythe’s history. The museum has been closed for the summer but will reopen the first weekend of November for Homecoming. There are all types of displays in the museum, one of which is the Yellow Jacket Hall of Fame where three athletes are inducted every year at homecoming. The museum was originally founded in 1981. The building the museum is now in was originally a bank in 1957 and was donated to the museum by Warren and Margret Port in 1991. The museum is run by a board of seven local directors and is funded by the community. The purpose of the museum is to collect, preserve, and display items related to Palo Verde Valley history.
1 of 9
Grinding Wheel bought second hand in 1921 by Mr. Rice. Donated by C.A. Rice and displayed in the Indoor Farm display at the Palo Verde Historical Museum.
The Palo Verde Historical Museum Society asks visitors to touch the exhibits "with your eyes only."
The Palo Verde Historical Museum and Society is located at 150 N. Broadway.
Highlights of the Palo Verde Valley gives an outline of Blythe's history.
Bell used at Blythe Grammar School, built in 1914 on the 300th block of East Barnard which was later named for Felix J. Appleby.
Oldest plow in the Palo Verde Valley can be found in the Palo Verde Historical Museum.
Gold Balance used by Harry Evans seen in the rock and gem collection in the Palo Verde Historical Museum.
Midland display at the Palo Verde Historical Museum.
A button rests on a display case in the Yellow Jacket Hall of Fame in the Palo Verde Historical Museum.